The Chicago citation style has two variants, the Notes and Bibliography format and the Author-Date format. Examples for both formats are included for every example.
Different disciplines that utilize the Chicago style may prefer one format over the other. Ex. History will typically prefer the Notes and Bibliography format while Biology will typically prefer the Author-Date format.
If you are unsure which format to use for your citations, consult with your instructor on their preference.
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT (in alphabetical order)
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. “Title of Article: Subtitle.” Title of Journal/Periodical Title Volume, Issue (Month/Season of Publication, if present): Page Number(s). Database, DOI (or Permalink/Stable URL if unavailable).
(For more information on citing database "Journal Articles" in the author/date format, refer to pg. 897 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE AUTHOR)
Hailu, Gebrezabher Niguse. 2020. "Practice of stress management behaviors and associated factors among undergraduate students of Mekelle University, Ethiopia: a cross-sectional study." BMC Psychiatry 20 no. 1 (April): 1-7, Academic Search Ultimate, https://doi.org/10.1186/s12888-020-02574-4.
IN-TEXT
(Hailu 2020, 5)
REFERENCE LIST (TWO AUTHORS)
Okhrimenko, Ivan, and Nina Lyhun. 2020. "Stress Prevention and Management during the Quarantine." BRAIN: Broad Research in Artificial Intelligence & Neuroscience 11, no. 2 (June): 157–164, Academic Search Ultimate, https://doi.org/10.18662/brain/11.2Sup1/101.
IN-TEXT
(Okhrimenko and Lyhun 2020, 162-63)
REFERENCE LIST (THREE AUTHORS)
Depner, Rachel M., Catherine P. Cook-Cottone, and Sunha Kim. 2021. “Structural Relationship between Mindful Self-Care, Meaning Made, and Palliative Worker’s Quality of Life.” International Journal of Stress Management 28 no. 1 (February): 74-87, APA PsycArticles, https://doi.org/10.1037/str0000209.
IN-TEXT
(Depner et al. 2021, 75)
REFERENCE LIST (FOUR TO TEN AUTHORS)
Poulos, Natalie S., Eileen K. Nehme, Molly M. O'Neil, and Dorothy J. Mandell. 2021. "Implementing food bank and healthcare partnerships: a pilot study of perspectives from charitable food systems in Texas." BMC Public Health 21 no. 1 (November): 1-7, Academic Search Ultimate, https://doi.org/10.1186/s12889-021-12031-w.
IN-TEXT
(Poulos et al. 2021, 4-5)
For works with more than ten authors, refer to the "Citing Works With Multiple Authors" page.
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT (in alphabetical order)
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. “Title of Article: Subtitle.” Title of Journal/Periodical Title Volume, Issue (Month/Season of Publication, if present): Page Number(s). Database, DOI (or Permalink/Stable URL if unavailable).
(For more information on citing "Journal Articles" in author/date, refer to pg. 897 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE AUTHOR)
Hailu, Gebrezabher Niguse. 2020. "Practice of stress management behaviors and associated factors among undergraduate students of Mekelle University, Ethiopia: a cross-sectional study." BMC Psychiatry 20 no. 1 (April): 1-7, Academic Search Ultimate, https://doi.org/10.1186/s12888-020-02574-4.
IN-TEXT
(Hailu 2020, 5)
REFERENCE LIST (TWO AUTHORS)
Okhrimenko, Ivan, and Nina Lyhun. 2020. "Stress Prevention and Management during the Quarantine." BRAIN: Broad Research in Artificial Intelligence & Neuroscience 11, no. 2 (June): 157–164, Academic Search Ultimate, https://doi.org/10.18662/brain/11.2Sup1/101.
IN-TEXT
(Okhrimenko and Lyhun 2020, 162-63)
REFERENCE LIST (THREE AUTHORS)
Depner, Rachel M., Catherine P. Cook-Cottone, and Sunha Kim. 2021. “Structural Relationship between Mindful Self-Care, Meaning Made, and Palliative Worker’s Quality of Life.” International Journal of Stress Management 28 no. 1 (February): 74-87, APA PsycArticles, https://doi.org/10.1037/str0000209.
IN-TEXT
(Depner et al. 2021, 75)
REFERENCE LIST (FOUR TO TEN AUTHORS)
Poulos, Natalie S., Eileen K. Nehme, Molly M. O'Neil, and Dorothy J. Mandell. 2021. "Implementing food bank and healthcare partnerships: a pilot study of perspectives from charitable food systems in Texas." BMC Public Health 21 no. 1 (November): 1-7, Academic Search Ultimate, https://doi.org/10.1186/s12889-021-12031-w.
IN-TEXT
(Poulos et al. 2021, 4-5)
For works with more than ten authors, refer to the "Citing Works With Multiple Authors" page.
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT (in alphabetical order)
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. "Title of Newspaper Article." Title of Newspaper, Publication Date. Database, Permalink/Stable URL.
(For more information on citing database "Newspaper" articles in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 838-39 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)
Hauser, Christine. "Racist Rant on Flight Prompts Inquiry in Britain and Vow for Justice in Spain." New York Times, October 25, 2018. Gale Academic OneFile Select, https://jewell.idm.oclc.org/login?url-https://search.cbscohost.com/login.aspx? direct=true&db=edsgea&AN=edsgcl.559652947&site=eds-live.
NOTES (ONE AUTHOR)
Format:
1. First Name Last Name, "Article Title," Newspaper title, Publication date, Database, Permalink/URL.
2. Last Name, "Article Title."
Example:
1. Christine Hauser, "Racist Rant on Flight Prompts Inquiry in Britain and Vow for Justice in Spain," New York Times, October 25, 2018, Gale Academic OneFile Select, https://jewell.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx? direct=true&db=edsgea&AN=edsgcl.559652947&site=eds-live.
2. Hauser, "Racist Rant on Flight."
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Newspaper Article." Title of Newspaper, Publication Date. Database, Permalink/Stable URL.
(For more information on citing database "Newspaper" articles in author-date format, see pg. 915 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE AUTHOR)
Hauser, Christine. 2018. "Racist Rant on Flight Prompts Inquiry in Britain and Vow for Justice in Spain." New York Times, October 25, 2018. Gale Academic OneFile Select, https://jewell.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx? direct=true&db=edsgea&AN=edsgcl.559652947&site=eds-live.
IN-TEXT
(Hauser 2018)
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT (in alphabetical order)
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. "Title of Newspaper Article." Title of Newspaper, Publication Date. Permalink/Stable URL.
(For more information on citing online "Newspaper" articles in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 838 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)
Hauser, Christine. "Racist Rant on Flight Prompts Inquiry in Britain and Vow for Justice in Spain." New York Times, October 25, 2018. https://www.nytimes.com/2018/10/24/world/europe/ryanair-racist-man-passenger.html.
NOTES (ONE AUTHOR)
Format:
1. First Name Last Name, "Article Title," Newspaper title, Publication date, URL.
2. Last Name, "Article Title."
Example:
1. Christine Hauser, "Racist Rant on Flight Prompts Inquiry in Britain and Vow for Justice in Spain," New York Times, October 25, 2018, https://www.nytimes.com/2018/10/24/world/europe/ryanair-racist-man-passenger.html.
2. Hauser, "Racist Rant on Flight."
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Newspaper Article." Title of Newspaper, Publication Date. Stable URL.
(For more information on citing online "Newspaper" articles in the author-date format, see pg. 915 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE AUTHOR)
Hauser, Christine. 2018. "Racist Rant on Flight Prompts Inquiry in Britain and Vow for Justice in Spain." New York Times, October 25, 2018. https://www.nytimes.com/2018/10/24/world/europe/ryanair-racist-man-passenger.html.
IN-TEXT
(Hauser 2018)
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT (in alphabetical order)
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. "Title of Magazine Article." Title of Magazine, Publication Date, Page Number(s) (if present). Database, DOI (if present) or permalink URL.
(For more information on citing database "Magazine" articles in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 837-38 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)
Thomson, Helen. "The Secrets of Stress-Free Living." New Scientist, February 22, 2020, 34-38. Gale Academic OneFile Select, https://doi.org/10.18662/brain/11.2Sup1/10110.1016/s0262
4079(20)30410-3.
NOTES (ONE AUTHOR)
Format:
1. First Name Last Name, "Article Title," Magazine title, Publication date, page number(s) (if present), Database, DOI or URL.
2. Last Name, "Article Title,' page numbers) (if present).
Example:
1. Helen Thomas, "The Secrets of Stress-Free Living," New Scientist, February 22, 2020, 35, Gale Academic OneFile Select, https://doi.org/10.18662/brain/11.2Sup1/10110.1016/s0262-4079(20)30410-3.
2. Thomas, "The Secrets of Stress-Free Living," 35.
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Magazine Article." Title of Magazine, Publication Date, Page Number(s) (if present). Database, DOI (if present) or permalink URL.
(For more information on citing online "Magazine" articles in the author-date format, see pg. 915 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE AUTHOR)
Thomson, Helen. 2020. "The Secrets of Stress-Free Living." New Scientist, February 22, 2020, 3438. Gale Academic OneFile Select, https://doi.org/10.18662/brain/11.2Sup1/10110.1016/s02624079(20)30410-3.
IN-TEXT
(Thomas 2020, 35)
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT (in alphabetical order)
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. "Title of Magazine Article." Title of Magazine, Publication Date, Page Number(s) (if present). DOI or URL.
(For more information on citing online "Magazine" articles in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 837-38 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)
Thomson, Helen. "The Secrets of Stress-Free Living." New Scientist, February 22, 2020, 34-38. https://doi.org/10.18662/brain/11.2Sup1/10110.1016/s02624079(20)30410-3.
NOTES (ONE AUTHOR)
Format:
1. First Name Last Name, "Article Title," Magazine title, Publication date, page number(s) (if present), DOI or URL.
2. Last Name, "Article Title,' page numbers) (if present).
Example:
1. Helen Thomas, "The Secrets of Stress-Free Living," New Scientist, February 22, 2020, 35, https://doi.org/10.18662/brain/11.2Sup1/10110.1016/s0262-4079(20)30410-3.
2. Thomas, "The Secrets of Stress-Free Living," 35.
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Magazine Article." Title of Magazine, Publication Date, Page Number(s) (if present). DOI or URL.
(For more information on citing online "Magazine" articles in the author-date format, see pg. 915 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE AUTHOR)
Thomson, Helen. 2020. "The Secrets of Stress-Free Living." New Scientist, February 22, 2020, 3438. https://doi.org/10.18662/brain/11.2Sup1/10110.1016/s02624079(20)30410-3.
IN-TEXT
(Thomas 2020, 35)
Works with multiple authors/editors are treated differently, both depending on the format of Chicago used and the number of authors/editors present.
For more information, see the "Citing Works with Multiple Authors" page.