The Chicago citation style has two variants, the Notes and Bibliography format and the Author-Date format. Examples for both formats are included for every example.
Different disciplines that utilize the Chicago style may prefer one format over the other. Ex. History will typically prefer the Notes and Bibliography format while Biology will typically prefer the Author-Date format.
If you are unsure which format to use for your citations, consult with your instructor on their preference.
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Author Last Name, First Name or Group Name. “Title/Text of Post.”* Site Name, Month Day, Year of Post. Post URL.
*Limit the title/text of the post to the first 160 characters, including spaces.
(For more information on citing Facebook posts in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 848-849 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)
The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. "Artist Demo." Facebook, February 9, 2022. https://www.facebook.com/nelsonatkins/posts/10159311560268961
NOTES (ONE AUTHOR)
Format:
1. Author First Name Last Name or Group Name, “Title/Text of Post,” Site Name, Month Day, Year of Post, Post URL.
2. Last Name, “Title/Text of Post.”
Example:
1. The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. "Artist Demo." Facebook, February 9, 2022. https://www.facebook.com/nelsonatkins/posts/10159311560268961
2. The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, "Artist Demo."
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Author Last Name, First Name or Group Name. Year of Post. “Title/Text of Post.”* Site Name, Month Day, Year of Post. Post URL.
*Limit the title/text of the post to the first 160 characters, including spaces.
(For more information on citing Facebook posts in the author-date format, see pgs. 895-96 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE AUTHOR)
The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. 2022. "Artist Demo." Facebook, February 9, 2022. https://www.facebook.com/nelsonatkins/posts/10159311560268961
IN-TEXT
(The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, 2022).
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Author Last Name, First Name or Group Name (@screen name).* “Title/Text of Post.”** Site Name, Month Day, Year, Exact Time am/pm of Post. Post URL.
*If only a screen name is known, use the screen name in place of the author’s name.
**Limit the title/text of the post to the first 160 characters, including spaces.
(For more information on citing Twitter posts in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 848-849 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)
KCMO Public Library (@KCLibrary). "DYK that the first school west of the Mississippi River built exclusively for Black students was in #KansasCity?" Twitter, February 7, 2022, 12:02pm, https://twitter.com/KCLibrary/status/1490747778204639232
NOTES (ONE AUTHOR)
Format:
1. Author First Name Last Name or Group Name (@screen name), “Title/Text of Post,” Site Name, Month Day, Year, Exact Time am/pm of Post, Post URL.
2. Last Name, “Title/Text of Post.”
Example:
1. KCMO Public Library (@KCLibrary). "DYK that the first school west of the Mississippi River built exclusively for Black students was in #KansasCity?" Twitter, February 7, 2022, 12:02pm, https://twitter.com/KCLibrary/status/1490747778204639232
2. KCMO Public Library, "DYK that the first school west of the Mississippi River built exclusively for Black students was in #KansasCity?"
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Author Last Name, First Name or Group Name (@screen name).* Year of Post. “Title/Text of Post.”** Site Name, Month Day, Year, Exact Time am/pm of Post. Post URL.
*If only a screen name is known, use the screen name in place of the author’s name.
**Limit the title/text of the post to the first 160 characters, including spaces.
(For more information on citing Twitter posts in the author-date format, see pgs. 895-96 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE AUTHOR)
KCMO Public Library (@KCLibrary). 2022. "DYK that the first school west of the Mississippi River built exclusively for Black students was in #KansasCity?" Twitter, February 7, 2022, 12:02pm, https://twitter.com/KCLibrary/status/1490747778204639232
IN-TEXT
(KCMO Public Library, 2022)
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Author Last Name, First Name or Group Name (@screen name).* “Title/Text of Post.”** Site Name and Post Description, Month Day, Year of Post. Post URL.
*If only a screen name is known, use the screen name in place of the author’s name.
**Limit the title/text of the post to the first 160 characters, including spaces.
(For more information on citing Instagram posts in bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 848-849 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)
Patrick Mahomes (@patrickmahomes). "That was pretty cool!" Instagram Post, January 24, 2022. https://www.instagram.com/p/CZHj5dFF9Fl/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link
NOTES (ONE AUTHOR)
Format:
1. Author First Name Last Name or Group Name (@screen name), “Title/Text of Post,” Site Name and Post Description, Month Day, Year of Post, Post URL.
2. Last Name, “Title/Text of Post.”
Example:
1. Patrick Mahomes (@patrickmahomes). "That was pretty cool!" Instagram Post, January 24, 2022. https://www.instagram.com/p/CZHj5dFF9Fl/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link
2. Mahomes, "That was pretty cool!"
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Author Last Name, First Name or Group Name (@screen name).* Year of Post. “Title/Text of Post.”** Site Name and Post Description, Month Day, Year of Post. Post URL.
*If only a screen name is known, use the screen name in place of the author’s name.
**Limit the title/text of the post to the first 160 characters, including spaces.
(For more information on citing Instagram posts in the author-date format, see pgs. 895-96 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE AUTHOR)
Patrick Mahomes (@patrickmahomes). 2022. "That was pretty cool!" Instagram Post, January 24, 2022. https://www.instagram.com/p/CZHj5dFF9Fl/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link
IN-TEXT
(Mahomes, 2022)
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Name of Primary Performer, Band, or Composer. Title of Album. Contributing Personnel (if any). Recording Date (if different than Publication Date). Recording Label, Year of Publication. Medium.
(For more information on citing audio recordings in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 869-871 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE ARTIST)
Adele. 30. 2018-2021. Columbia Records, 2021. Vinyl.
NOTES (ONE ARTIST)
Format:
1. Name of Performer, Band, or Composer, Album Title, Contributing Personnel (if any), Recording Date (if different than Publication Date), Recording Company or Publisher, Publication Year, Medium.
2. Performer, Album Title.
Example:
1. Adele, 30, 2018-2021, Columbia Records, 2021, Vinyl.
2. Adele, 30.
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Name of Primary Performer, Band, or Composer. Year of Publication. Title of Album. Contributing Personnel (if any). Recording Date (if different than Publication Date). Recording Label, Medium.
(For more information on citing audio recordings in the author-date format, see pgs. 919-920 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE ARTIST)
Adele. 2021. 30. 2018-2021. Columbia Records, Vinyl.
IN-TEXT
(Adele, 2021).
Note: these song citation examples are intended for to emphasize the primary performer/band of the song being considered. If you wish to only emphasize the song itself, switch the primary performer/band to appear between the track number and album title.
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Name of Primary Performer or Band. "Title of Song." Contributing Personnel (if any). Digital Medium or App. Track # on Title of Album. Recording Label, Year of Release. Physical Medium.
(For more information on citing audio recordings in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 869-871 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE ARTIST)
Beastie Boys. "Sabotage." Apple Music. Track 6 Ill Communication. Grand Royal, 1994.
NOTES (ONE ARTIST)
Format:
1. Name of Primary Performer or Band, "Title of Song," Contributing Personnel (if any), Digital Medium or App, track # on Title of Album, Record Label, Year of Release, Physical Medium.
2. Performer, Album Title.
Example:
1. Beastie Boys, "Sabotage," Apple Music, Track 6 of Ill Communication, Grand Royal, 1994.
2. Beastie Boys, Ill Communication.
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Name of Primary Performer or Band, role. Year of Original Release. "Title of Song." Contributing Personnel (if any). Digital Medium or App. Track # on Title of Album. Recording Label, Year of Release (if different than Original Release). Physical Medium.
(For more information on citing audio recordings in the author-date format, see pgs. 919-920 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE ARTIST)
Beastie Boys. 1994. "Sabotage." Apple Music. Track 6 on Ill Communication. Grand Royal.
IN-TEXT
(Beastie Boys, 1994).
Note: these song citation examples are intended for to emphasize the primary performer/band of the song being considered. If you wish to only emphasize the song itself, switch the primary performer/band to appear between the track number and album title.
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Host Last Name, First Name. "Title of Podcast Episode." Title of Podcast, Month Day, Year of Release. Podcast, Type of Access, Length of Podcast Episode in mm:ss. URL (if present).
(For more information on citing podcasts in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 873-874 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE HOST)
Barbaro, Michael. "A 'Zero Covid' Olympics." The Daily, February 4, 2022. Podcast, Apple Podcasts, 27:00.
NOTES (ONE HOST)
Format:
1. Host First Name Last Name, "Title of Episode," Month Day, Year of Release, in Title of Podcast, podcast, Type of Access, Length of Podcast Episode in mm:ss, URL (if present).
2. Host "Title of Podcast Episode."
Example:
1. Michael Barbaro, " A 'Zero Covid' Olympics," February 4, 2022, in The Daily, podcast, Apple Podcasts, 27:00.
2. Michael Barbaro "A 'Zero Covid' Olympics."
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Host Last Name First Name. Year of Release. "Title of Podcast Episode." Title of Podcast, Month Day, Year of Release. Podcast, Type of Access, Length of Podcast Episode in mm:ss. URL (if present).
(For more information on citing podcasts in the author-date format, see pgs. 919-920 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE ARTIST)
Barbaro, Michael. 2022. "A 'Zero Covid' Olympics." The Daily, February 4, 2022. Podcast, Apple Podcasts, 27:00.
IN-TEXT
(Barbaro, 2022).
Note: Published musical scores should be treated similar to citing books, with attention paid to their published and/or original language.
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Title of Score. Contributing Editors or personnel. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.
(For more information on citing published musical scores in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 866-867 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Seven great opera overtures. Mineola, NY: Dover Publications, 1998.
NOTES (ONE AUTHOR)
Format:
1. Author(s) First Name Last Name, Title of Score, Contributing Editors or personnel, City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.
2. Last Name, Title of Score, page number(s).
Example:
1. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Seven great opera overtures, Mineola, NY: Dover Publications, 1998.
2. Mozart, Seven great opera overtures, 27.
Note: When creating a citation for a visual media source, it is important to consider the emphasis of the citation. If you are citing a director's work as exemplified in a film, note the director as the "key contributor" in the citation. If the emphasis of the citation is on the film itself, only list specific personnel involved with the film after the film's title.
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Key Contributor Last Name, First Name, role. Title of Video. Publisher/Production Company. Year of Publication. Format, Video Length in mm:ss. Database or Streaming Site URL.
(For more information on citing streamed videos in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 873-874 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE CONTRIBUTOR)
Lam, Ken, producer and director, and Jessica Tanenbaum, producer. History of Nursing: The Development of a Profession, with Audio Description, in History of Nursing. Insight Media. 2008. Video Work, 00:34:50. Academic Video Online.
NOTES (ONE CONTRIBUTOR)
Format:
1. Title of Video, directed by Director First Name Last Name, Publisher/Production Company, Year Published, Format, Video Length in mm:ss, Database or Streaming Site URL.
2. Title of Video.
Example:
1. History of Nursing: The Development of a Profession, with Audio Description, in History of Nursing, Directed by Ken Lam, Insight Media, 2008, Video Work, 00:34:50, Academic Video Online.
2. History of Nursing: The Development of a Profession, with Audio Description, in History of Nursing
Note: Because the only primary between the Bibliographic/Notes format and the Author-Date format when citing an online video is listing the year of publication list the date of creation immediately after the artist's name and in the parenthetical citation, examples are omitted from this section. For more examples in the author-date format, see pgs. 919-920.
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Uploader Last Name, First Name or username. "Video Title." Site Name or Platform. Month Day, Year of Publication. Format, Video Length in mm:ss. URL.
(For more information on citing online videos in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 873-874 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (YouTube)
William Jewell College. "Happy Holidays from Jewell 2021." Youtube. December 23, 2021. Video, 02:32. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7fKQXa-Sezo.
NOTES (YouTube)
Format:
1. Uploader First Name Last Name or username, "Video Title," Site Name or Platform, Month Day, Year of Publication, Format, Video Length in mm:ss, URL.
2. Uploader, "Video Title"
Example:
1. William Jewell College, "Happy Holidays from Jewell 2021," Youtube, December 23, 2021, Video, 02:32, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7fKQXa-Sezo.
2. William Jewell College, "Happy Holidays from Jewell 2021."
BIBLIOGRAPHY (Online)
CNBC. "Diplomatic action at heart of France’s responsibilities, Barnier says." CNBC. February 15, 2022. Video, 05:24. https://www.cnbc.com/video/2022/02/15/diplomatic-action-at-heart-of-franceas-responsibilities-barnier-says.html.
NOTES (Online)
Format:
1. Uploader First Name Last Name or username, "Video Title," Site Name or Platform, Month Day, Year of Publication, Format, Video Length in mm:ss, URL.
2. Uploader, "Video Title"
Example:
1. CNBC. "Diplomatic action at heart of France’s responsibilities, Barnier says," CNBC, February 15, 2022, Video, 05:24, https://www.cnbc.com/video/2022/02/15/diplomatic-action-at-heart-of-franceas-responsibilities-barnier-says.html
2. CNBC, "Diplomatic action at heart of France’s responsibilities, Barnier says."
Note: When creating a citation for a visual media source, it is important to consider the emphasis of the citation. If you are citing a director's work as exemplified in a film, note the director as the "key contributor" in the citation. If the emphasis of the citation is on the film itself, only list specific personnel involved with the film after the film's title.
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Key Contributor Last Name, First Name, role. Title of Movie/Film. Year of Original Release; Production Company City, State: Production Company. Year of Publication (if different than Original Release). Medium.
(For more information on citing movies/films in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 872-873 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)
Logan, Joshua, Director. South Pacific. 1958; Los Angeles, California: Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment. DVD.
NOTES (ONE AUTHOR)
Format:
1. Title of Movie/Film, directed by Director First Name Last Name (Year of Original Release; Production Company City, State: Production Company, Year of Publication, if different than Original Release), Medium.
2. Title of Video.
Example:
1. South Pacific, directed by director Joshua Logan (1958; Los Angeles, California: Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment.) DVD.
2. South Pacific.
Note: typically artwork is only cited in the Bibliographic/Notes format of Chicago. Because the only primary difference of the Author-Date format for artwork is to list the date of creation immediately after the artist's name and in the parenthetical citation, examples are omitted from this section.
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Artist Last Name, First Name. Title of Work. Date of creation/completion. Medium. Museum/Gallery, City.
(For more information on citing different types of artwork in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 859-860 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (PAINTING)
Wiley, Kehinde. Saint Adrian. 2006. Oil on Canvas. Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City.
NOTES (PAINTING)
Format:
1. Artist First Name Last Name, Title of Work, Date of creation/completion, Medium, Museum/Gallery, City.
2. Artist, Title of Work.
Example:
1. Kehinde Wiley, Saint Adrian, 2006, Oil on Canvas, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City.
2. Wiley, Saint Adrian.
BIBLIOGRAPHY (PHOTOGRAPH)
Lange, Dorothea. Migrant Mother. March 1936. Gelatin Silver Print. Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City.
NOTES (PHOTOGRAPH)
Format:
1. Artist First Name Last Name, Title of Work, Date of creation/completion, Medium, Museum/Gallery, City.
2. Artist, Title of Work.
Example:
1. Dorothea Lange, Migrant Mother, March 1936, Gelatin Silver Print, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City.
2. Lange, Migrant Mother.
BIBLIOGRAPHY (SCULPTURE)
Oldenburg, Claes and Coosje Bruggen. Shuttlecocks. 1994. Aluminum, fiberglass-reinforced plastic, paint. Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City.
NOTES (SCULPTURE)
Format:
1. Artist First Name Last Name, Title of Work, Date of creation/completion, Medium, Museum/Gallery, City.
2. Artist, Title of Work.
Example:
1. Claes Oldenburg and Coosje Van Brugen, Shuttlecocks, 1994, Aluminum, fiberglass-reinforced plastic, paint, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City.
2. Oldenburg and Van Brugen, Shuttlecocks.
Note: typically artwork is only cited in the Bibliographic/Notes format of Chicago. Because the only primary difference of the Author-Date format for artwork is to list the date of creation immediately after the artist's name and in the parenthetical citation, examples are omitted from this section.
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Artist Last Name, First Name. Title of Work. Date of creation/completion. Medium. Museum/Gallery. URL.
(For more information on citing different types of artwork in the bibliography/notes format, see pgs. 859-860 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (PAINTING)
Wiley, Kehinde. Saint Adrian. 2006. Oil on Canvas. Kansas City. https://art.nelson-atkins.org/objects/66267/saint-adrian.
NOTES (PAINTING)
Format:
1. Artist First Name Last Name, Title of Work, Date of creation/completion, Medium, Location, URL.
2. Artist, Title of Work.
Example:
1. Kehinde Wiley, Saint Adrian, 2006, Oil on Canvas, Kansas City, https://art.nelson-atkins.org/objects/66267/saint-adrian.
2. Kehinde Wiley, Saint Adrian.
BIBLIOGRAPHY (SCULPTURE)
Oldenburg, Claes and Coosje Bruggen. Shuttlecocks. 1994. Aluminum, fiberglass-reinforced plastic, paint. Kansas City. https://art.nelson-atkins.org/objects/16574.
NOTES (SCULPTURE)
Format:
1. Artist First Name Last Name, Title of Work, Date of creation/completion, Medium, Location, URL.
2. Artist, Title of Work.
Example:
1. Claes Oldenburg and Coosje Van Brugen, Shuttlecocks, 1994, Aluminum, fiberglass-reinforced plastic, paint, Kansas City, https://art.nelson-atkins.org/objects/16574.
2. Claes Oldenburg and Coosje Van Brugen, Shuttlecocks.
BIBLIOGRAPHY (PHOTOGRAPH)
Lange, Dorothea. Migrant Mother. March 1936. Gelatin Silver Print. Kansas City. https://art.nelson-atkins.org/objects/47104/migrant-mother-nipomo-california.
NOTES (PHOTOGRAPH)
Format:
1. Artist First Name Last Name, Title of Work, Date of creation/completion, Medium, Location, URL.
2. Artist, Title of Work.
Example:
1. Dorothea Lange, Migrant Mother, March 1936, Gelatin Silver Print, Kansas City, https://art.nelson-atkins.org/objects/47104/migrant-mother-nipomo-california.
2. Dorothea Lange, Migrant Mother.