The Chicago citation style has two variants, the Notes and Bibliography format and the Author-Date format. Examples for both formats are included for every example.
Different disciplines that utilize the Chicago style may prefer one format over the other. Ex. History will typically prefer the Notes and Bibliography format while Biology will typically prefer the Author-Date format.
If you are unsure which format to use for your citations, consult with your instructor on their preference.
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Database.
(For more information on citing "Ebooks" in a database in bibliography/notes format, see pg. 827 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)
Camus, Albert. The Plague. Knopf, 2021. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
NOTES (ONE AUTHOR)
Format:
1. First Name Last Name, Book title (City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication): page number(s), Database.
2. Last Name, Book title, page number(s).
Example:
1. Albert Camus, The Plague (Knopf, 2021): 22, eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
2. Camus, The Plague, 22.
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher. Database.
(For more information on citing "Books" in the author-date format, see pgs. 895-96 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE AUTHOR)
Camus, Albert. 2021. The Plague. Knopf. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
IN-TEXT
(Campus 2021, 22)
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.
(For more information on citing "Books" in bibliography/notes format, see pg. 799 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)
Camus, Albert. The Plague. New York: Vintage Books, 1972.
NOTES (ONE AUTHOR)
Format:
1. First Name Last Name, Book title (City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date), page number(s).
2. Last Name, Book title, page number(s).
Example:
1. Albert Camus, The Plague (New York: Vintage Books, 1972), 22.
2. Camus, The Plague, 22.
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher.
(For more information on citing "Books" in the author-date format, see pgs. 895-96 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE AUTHOR)
Camus, Albert. 1972. The Plague. New York: Vintage Books.
IN-TEXT
(Campus 1972, 22)
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. “Chapter Title: Subtitle.” In Title of Book, edited by Editor First Name Last Name, Page Number(s). City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Database.
(For more information on citing "Chapters in a Book" from a database in bibliography/notes format, see pg. 802-03 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR, ONE EDITOR)
Twain, Mark. "A Reminiscence of Artemus Ward." In The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature From the Silver Age of the Old West, edited by Lawrence I. Berklove, 242-245. Columbia, MO: U of Missouri P, 2006. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
NOTES (ONE AUTHOR, ONE EDITOR)
Format:
1. Author First Name Last Name, "Chapter Title: Subtitle," in Book title, ed. Editor First Name Last Name (City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date): page number(s), Database.
2. Author Last Name, "Chapter Title," page number(s).
Example:
1. Mark Twain, "A Reminiscence of Artemus Ward," in The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature From the Silver Age of the Old West, ed. Lawrence I. Berklove (Columbia, MO: U of Missouri P, 2006): 243, eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
2. Twain, “A Reminiscence of Artemus Ward,” 243.
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. “Chapter Title: Subtitle.” In Title of Book, edited by Editor First Name Last Name, Page Number(s). City of Publication: Publisher. Database.
(For more information on citing "Chapters in a Book" from a database in author/date format, see pg. 897 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE AUTHOR, ONE EDITOR)
Twain, Mark. 2006. "A Reminiscence of Artemus Ward." In The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature From the Silver Age of the Old West, edited by Lawrence I. Berklove, 242-245. Columbia, MO: U of Missouri P. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
IN-TEXT
(Twain 2006, 243)
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. “Chapter Title: Subtitle.” In Title of Book, edited by Editor First Name Last Name, Page Number(s). City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.
(For more information on citing "Chapters in a Book" in bibliography/notes format, see pg. 802-03 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR, ONE EDITOR)
Twain, Mark. "A Reminiscence of Artemus Ward." In The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature From the Silver Age of the Old West, edited by Lawrence I. Berklove, 242-245. Columbia, MO: U of Missouri P, 2006.
NOTES (ONE AUTHOR, ONE EDITOR)
Format:
1. Author First Name Last Name, "Chapter Title: Subtitle," in Book title, ed. Editor First Name Last Name (City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date): page number(s).
2. Author Last Name, "Chapter Title," page number(s).
Example:
1. Mark Twain, "A Reminiscence of Artemus Ward," in The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature From the Silver Age of the Old West, ed. Lawrence I. Berklove (Columbia, MO: U of Missouri P, 2006): 243.
2. Twain, “A Reminiscence of Artemus Ward,” 243.
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. “Chapter Title: Subtitle.” In Title of Book, edited by Editor First Name Last Name, Page Number(s). City of Publication: Publisher.
(For more information on citing "Chapters in a Book" in author/date format, see pg. 897 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE AUTHOR, ONE EDITOR)
Twain, Mark. 2006. "A Reminiscence of Artemus Ward." In The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature From the Silver Age of the Old West, edited by Lawrence I. Berklove, 242-245. Columbia, MO: U of Missouri P.
IN-TEXT
(Twain 2006, 243)
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Editor(s) Last Name, First Name, ed(s). Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Database.
(For more information on citing "Edited Ebooks" in a database in bibliography/notes format, see pg. 800-01 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE EDITOR)
Beyer, Charlotte, ed. Contemporary Crime Fiction: Crossing Boundaries, Merging Genres. Cambridge: Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2021. eBook Index.
NOTES (ONE EDITOR)
Format:
1. First Name Last Name, ed(s)., Book title (City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication): page number(s), Database.
2. Last Name, Book title, page number(s).
Example:
1. Charlotte Beyer, ed., Contemporary Crime Fiction: Crossing Boundaries, Merging Genres (Cambridge: Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2021): 57, eBook Index.
2. Beyer, Contemporary Crime Fiction: Crossing Boundaries, Merging Genres, 57.
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Editor(s) Last Name, First Name, ed(s). Year of Publication. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher. Database.
(For more information on citing "Edited Ebooks" in a database in author/date format, see pg. 897 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE EDITOR)
Beyer, Charlotte, ed. 2021. Contemporary Crime Fiction: Crossing Boundaries, Merging Genres. Cambridge: Cambridge Scholars Publishing. eBook Index.
IN-TEXT
(Beyer 2021, 57)
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT
Editor(s) Last Name, First Name, ed(s). Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.
(For more information on citing "Edited Books" in bibliography/notes format, see pg. 800-01 in the seventeenth edition).
BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE EDITOR)
Duvall, John N., ed. The Cambridge companion to American fiction after 1945. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2012.
NOTES (ONE EDITOR)
Format:
1. First Name Last Name, ed(s)., Book title (City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date), page number(s).
2. Last Name, Book title, page number(s).
Example:
1. John N. Duvall, ed., The Cambridge companion to American fiction after 1945 (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2012), 57.
2. Duvall, The Cambridge companion to American fiction after 1945, 57.
REFERENCE LIST FORMAT
Editor(s) Last Name, First Name, ed(s). Year of Publication. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher.
(For more information on citing "Edited Books" in author/date format, see pg. 897 in the seventeenth edition).
REFERENCE LIST (ONE EDITOR)
Duvall, John N., ed. 2012. The Cambridge companion to American fiction after 1945. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
IN-TEXT
(Duvall 2012, 57)