Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Jewell Archives and Partee Center: Donations

Information, policies, and procedures for finding and researching information in the William Jewell College Archives and W.E. Partee Center for Baptist Historical Studies.

Contact

If, after reading the procedures for either an Internal Transfer of Records or an External Deed of Gift, you still have questions, please access our FAQ page. This page contains answers to frequently asked question about, among other things, our donation processes. Please feel free to contact us at swarchives@william.jewell.edu for further questions, or call (816) 415-7620.

 

Please note that, during the academic year of 2021-2022, donation appointments will take place only on Thursdays. Thank you.

Procedures for Donations

This donation procedure pertains to deeds of gifts and donations provided to the Archives and/or W.E. Partee Center by members outside of the William Jewell College community. This involves donations provided by members of the Liberty/Clay County community and individuals/organizations related to Missouri Baptist history.

To complete this external donation process, both the patron and Archives staff must abide by policies and procedures stipulated in documentation pertaining to Deeds of Gift and Gift Acceptance policies, as well as the Archives Collection Policy.

Procedure for an External Deed of Gift
The patron interested in donating items to the Archives and/or Partee Center should contact the Director of Library Services or the Archives Student Manager. This can be done either by e-mail (swarchives@william.jewell.edu) or by phone ((816) 415-7620).

In communication with either the Director of Library Services or the Archives Student Manager, the patron should indicate their interest in donating items to the Archives and/or Partee Center, as well as provide information about the items that the patron is looking to donate. Pertinent information includes the number of item(s) the patron would like to donate, the format of the item(s) (books, tapes, etc?), the scope of the items (what dates are covered by this item(s)?), and the condition of the item(s). Furthermore, the patron should also provide contact information.

Contacting the Director of Library Services and/or the Archives Student Manager does not constitute acceptance of the donated items. After initial contact, the Director of Library and/or the Archives Student Manager will direct you to the Calendly research appointment link in order to schedule a time for Archives staff to review the materials you are looking to donate. During this time, Archives staff will determine whether or not the material will be accepted. Determinations as to whether or not the material is accepted are governed by the Archives Collection Policy, as well as the Archives Deed of Gift and Gift Acceptance Polices. Please review the Deed of Gift and Gift Acceptance Policies below. A copy of the Archives Collection Policy can be found in the Library's policy library.

After Archives staff have assessed your items and have found them to be appropriate for the Archives/Partee collection, the patron and Archives staff will jointly fill out a Deed of Gift for, attached below. Archives staff reserve the right to reject material that a patron is looking to donate. Patrons will be given time to collect rejected materials.

The Deed of Gift Form is a document wherein the patron transfers usage and distribution rights of the gifted items to the Archives and/or Partee Center. In general, donating items to the Archives and/or Partee Center involves transferring full usage and distribution rights to the Archives and/or Partee Center. If you would like to stipulate certain usage and distribution rights, you should indicate this in your communications with the Director of Library Services and/or the Archives Student Manager. The donation form also includes contact information of the patron, as well as the patron's signature.

A copy of this filled out Deed of Gift Form will be e-mailed to the patron, and physical copies of this form can be made upon request. This Deed of Gift Form will be kept in Archives records alongside a copy of an Accession Record form, wherein the donated items will be given an accession record number. The Accession Record form also documents a description of donated items, which includes such things as condition, format, number, etc.

The Accession Record form will be signed by the donating patron, and a digital copy of this filled out form will be e-mailed to the patron. Physical copies of this form can also be made upon request.

Once this paperwork has been completed, the items have been officially donated. Archives staff will shelve the material in the appropriate area within the Archives and/or Partee collection. Donating patrons may inquire as to the status of their donated items by contacting the Director of Library Services and/or the Archives Student Manager

This donation procedure pertains to members of the William Jewell community who wish to transfer records to the Archives and/or W.E. Partee Center. Members of the Jewell community include staff, specific departments/offices, alumni, and faculty of William Jewell College. Retired staff and faculty are also welcome to complete an internal transfer of records form.

To complete this internal transfer of records, both the patron and Archives staff must abide by policies and procedures stipulated in documentation pertaining to the Internal Transfer of Records forms and policies.

Procedure for an Internal Transfer of Records
The patron interested in donating items to the Archives and/or Partee Center should contact the Director of Library Services and/or the Archives Student Manager. This can be done either by e-mail (swarchives@william.jewell.edu) or by phone ((816) 415-7620).

In communication with either the Director of Library Services or the Archives Student Manager, the patron should indicate their interest in donating items to the Archives and/or Partee Center, as well as provide information about the items that the patron is looking to donate. Pertinent information includes the number of item(s) the patron would like to donate, the format of the item(s) (books, tapes, etc), the scope of the items (what dates are covered by this item(s)?), and the condition of the item(s). Furthermore, the patron should also provide contact information and stipulate their relation to the College.

Contacting the Director of Library Services and/or the Archives Student Manager does not constitute acceptance of the donated items. After initial contact, the Director of Library and/or the Archives Student Manager will direct you to the Calendly research appointment link in order to schedule a time for Archives staff to review the materials you are looking to donate. During this time, Archives staff will determine whether or not the material will be accepted. Determinations as to whether or not the material is accepted are governed by the Archives Collection Policy, as well as the Gift Acceptance Policy. Please review the Gift Acceptance Policy below. A copy of the Archives Collection Policy can be found in the Library's policy library. 

After Archives staff have assessed your items and have found them to be appropriate for the Archives/Partee collection, the patron and Archives staff will jointly fill out an Internal Transfer of Records form, attached below. Archives staff reserve the right to reject material that a patron is looking to donate. Patrons will be given time to collect rejected materials.

The Internal Transfer of Records form is a document wherein the patron specifies usage and distribution rights of the gifted items transferred to the Archives and/or Partee Center. The donation form also includes contact information of the patron, as well as the patron's signature.

A copy of this filled out Internal Transfer of Records Form will be e-mailed to the patron, and physical copies of this form can be made upon request. This Internal Transfer of Records Form will be kept in Archives records alongside a copy of an Accession Record form, wherein the donated items will be given an accession record number. The Accession Record form also documents a description of donated items, which includes such things as condition, format, number, etc.

The Accession Record form will be signed by the donating patron, and a digital copy of this filled out form will be e-mailed to the patron. Physical copies of this form can also be made upon request.

Once this paperwork has been completed, the items have been officially donated. Archives staff will shelve the material in the appropriate area within the Archives and/or Partee collection. Donating patrons may inquire as to the status of their donated items by e-mailing the Director of Library Services and/or the Archives Student Manager.