Jewell Archives and Partee Center: Popular Archives Resources

The Early Development Papers contains scans of records held in a collection box in the holdings of the William Jewell College Archives. This collection primarily documents College finances in the 1850s and some actions of the Board of Trustees through meeting minutes, reports, and correspondence of the Board of Trustees. Record types include a ledger, subscription records from donors, bills and payments received by the College, correspondence, meeting minutes, and reports.

This link provides patrons access to William Jewell College's digitized Achieve publication. Achieve is an alumni-centered magazine published occasionally starting in 1971. This source has up to volume 2001-2002 of the magazine.

Recently, the Archives and Partee Center partnered up with other MOBIUS consortium libraries in a digitization project, wherein materials are hosted on a shared digital repository called "Vital." Archives staff will be uploading various college histories, Tatlers, student publications, and course catalogs on to this digital platform for patrons-- both within and outside of the Jewell community to peruse. Feel free to browse our extensive collection of digital materials, and check back for more!

The third history book written about William Jewell College. This publication, compiled for William Jewell College's sesquicentennial anniversary, focuses on the historical development of Jewell, particularly through the years 1949-1999.

The first history book written about William Jewell College. This book was written by James G. Clark, a professor at WJC, at the request of the Board of Trustees in 1893.

The second history book written about William Jewell College. This book was compiled by Hubert Inman (H.I.) Hester, a prominent figure in Jewell history, and was published in 1967.

This book, written in 1959, briefly details the material improvements of Jewell's campus undertaken throughout the course of 50 years, starting in 1903. John Eustace Davis, the author of this book, was a Jewell alumnus and, later on, a faculty member at Jewell.