Photocopying is allowed as permissible by the condition and size of the item. All copying is conducted by the Archives staff.
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17 U.S. code) governs the making of photocopies and other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified by the law, copies may be provided for individual researchers’ private study. The copies are provided for individual use and may not be further reproduced, published, broadcast, displayed, offered for sale, transferred to another individual, or deposited in another institution without written permission from the William Jewell College Archives and the copyright holder.
These materials are provided for reference use only. The user agrees not to publish them without the written permission of the Archives. Permission can be obtained by completing a Request for Permission to Publish, Exhibit or Broadcast form. In no case does permission to publish imply transfer of copyright or propriety rights. Any publication of material from the Archives must credit the William Jewell College Archives. The donor or donor’s designated representative may impose additional restrictions on certain collections.
Citations should follow this format: Identification of item, Collection Number or Collection Name, Container and File-Folder Location or Library Call Number where applicable, William Jewell College Archives.
Archives Reference Request Contacts:
Archives Student Manager
Email: swarchives@william.jewell.edu
Phone: (816) 415-7620
POLICY ON COPYRIGHT AND PUBLICATION
The Archives must be acknowledged in any publication or production resulting from using the collection. Specific references to the material and the Archives must be made both on the page where the materials are cited as well as the reference, citation, or bibliographic section of the work. It is the responsibility of the researcher to observe all copyright laws (Title 17, United States Code).
Researchers agree to indemnify the Archives of Charles F. Curry Library and William Jewell College against any and all claims and/or causes of action and related expenses including legal fees arising as a result of researchers’ failure to comply with copyright laws. The Archives requires a copy of any published work using their primary resources. Permission to use a photograph owned by the Archives is for a one-time and personal use only unless specifically stated otherwise in writing by the Archive Librarian. All photographs owned by the Archives must be acknowledged in any publication. For example: Name of photographer (if known), Courtesy of the Archives at Charles F. Curry Library, William Jewell College, Liberty, Missouri. If researchers wish to publish any primary resource owned by the Archives in its entirety, they must submit a letter detailing the resource and the work in which it will be published for approval. The Archive Librarian reserves the right to deny any such request solely based on the archive librarian’s discretion.
DUPLICATION SERVICES AND USE POLICIES
The Archive does not charge for any service as long as it falls within the reasonable use of the Archive and its services, subject to the discretion of the Archivist. The policy on publication still applies to these digital copies, and a user will have to file a Request for Permission to Publish, Exhibit or Broadcast form before publishing. A user should always follow archive procedure policies even when they are not visiting the collection in person.
Copyright: The copyright law of the United States governs the making of photocopies and other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, copies may be provided for individual researchers’ private study. The copies are for individual use and may not be further reproduced, published, broadcast, displayed, offered for sale, transferred to another individual or deposited in another institution without written permission from the College and the copyright holder. Patrons are responsible for observing all U.S. Copyright regulations.
Request for Permission to Publish, Exhibit, or Broadcast form
The Charles F. Curry Library holds unique collections of a variety of resources dating back to the 17th century. In order to protect these irreplaceable documents, researchers are required to adhere to the following guidelines. Adherence to these guidelines ensures that materials in the collection will be preserved. Please consult the Charles F. Curry Library staff if you have any questions. Thank you for your cooperation.
POLICY ON COPYRIGHT AND PUBLICATION
Certain materials used in the publication of this work were obtained from the Charles F. Curry Library, William Jewell College, Liberty, Missouri.